Year 7 & 8 SSV Cricket – Wellington

Round 1 – Wellington Semi-Finals

It was a great start for our Year 7 & 8 teams, who both registered strong wins in the first round of the School Sport Victoria Cricket competition.

Held at the College Ovals on a beautiful autumn day, our Year 7 side faced off against Sale College, while our Year 8s played Maffra Secondary College.

Bowling first, our Year 8s restricted Maffra to 6/55 from their 20 overs. Lewis Clive was the leading wicket-taker, claiming 2/9 off two overs. Madix Grattan (1/3), Max Stobie (1/4) Hayden Wrigglesworth (1/5) and Jack Cantwell (1/7) all chipped in to keep our opponents to a reachable total.

In reply, Hayden Wrigglesworth (32* ret) Asher Eastham (31* ret) and Ashton Wright (35* ret) chased down the total. Max Stobie (17* ret), Madix Grattan (17*) and Tilly Pendergast (1*) were at the crease when the final ball was bowled.

Thank you to Maffra for allowing us to bat out our allotted overs.

Year 8 Team: Asher Eastham (C), Ashton Wright (VC), Hayden Wrigglesworth (VC), Madix Grattan, Max Stobie, Matilda Pendergast, Matilda Berns, Jackson Annear, Jack Cantwell, Lewis Clive, John Wells & Oliver Duffell.

Our Year 7 side were in similar vein of form across the day. Batting first, Blake Aurisch (35 off 21) and Harry Tatterson laid a great foundation for our innings, with a 43-run opening stand inside the first five overs.

Blake regularly sent the ball towards the leg side boundary and finished with a powerful 35 off 21 balls, while Harry played a fantastic supporting role. Scoring runs of his own, but always backing up at the non-strikers end, looking to turn ‘ones’ into ‘twos’.

Following another terrific partnership with Sam Anderson (34* ret), Harry would leave the crease having reached 62* retired off 33 balls, including nine boundaries.

Tom Boyd (25* ret) and Jye Brickley (15) added some middle-order runs to push our total to 3/196.

In response, we proved just as strong with the ball.

Nic Walker claimed a wicket off his second delivery, and would finish with 2/2 off two overs. Brandon Manson (1/2 off three), Tom Boyd (1/1), Jye Brickley (2/0) and Acacia Sutton (2/0) were our other wicket-takers. The highlight came late in our innings, when Acacia claimed consecutive wickets on the 4th and 5th balls of her second over to set up a hat-trick ball.

Both teams will now take on the winners from the Traralgon end of the Wellington division, later this year.

Year 7 Team: Harry Tatterson (C), Sam Anderson (VC), Thomas Boyd, Acacia Sutton, Nic Walker, Jye Brickley, Charlie Morris, Brandon Manson, Mitchell Straw, Blake Aurisch, Katie Robinson & Jack McQuillen.